User Administration - Editing a user account

Setting an expiry date for an account
Unlocking and resetting user accounts
Deactivating unwanted user accounts

The User Administration section can be accessed from the Actions menu on the left. The User Administration section allows permitted users to modify other BridgeStation user accounts, set expiry dates, reset and unlock accounts, deactivate unwanted accounts and create new ones as needed. 

Left click the User administration menu item under your user name top-right to access the module.



Editing a user's BridgeStation module permissions

Permitted users can configure other user's permission levels to a number of BridgeStation modules and features. For example it is possible to configure an account with read only access to the structure's main details and element inventory but full access to add, edit and delete inspection proformas.
 
Users also have two sets of permissions. The main permissions set, and the borough/authority permissions set. This enables a user with access to multiple authorities to have different permissions for different authorities.

To edit an account's permission levels click the Edit button to the left of the account you wish to edit.

 
To Edit the Authority/borough permissions, first expand the + symbol to the left, then click the Edit button next to the authority/borough name.
 


Once in edit mode you can update permission levels by using the provided drop-downs to select the desired permission level. Once you are happy with the permission levels you have configured click the Update link to the left of the account you are editing to apply your changes. 



Click the Cancel link to abandon your changes and restore the previous configuration.

Setting an expiry date for an account

An account's expiry date can be modified in a similar way. Click the Edit button to the left of the authority/borough permission you wish to modify. Locate the Expiry Date drop-down. Click on the date to bring up the calendar control, use the arrow button and links within the control to specify the new required expiry date.



Expiry dates can only be set for Authority/borough permissions.

Unlocking and resetting user accounts

User accounts are locked when 5 failed attempts have been made to login to the website with a particular account. When a user locks their account they receive the following message:

Your account is locked after too many failed login attempts. Your system administrator has been informed of this event.

An email notification is sent to the user administrator for your authority. The user administrator can unlock these accounts via the user administration module. Open the user administration module and locate the account in question. You can filter for locked accounts quickly by using the locked column header filter.
 


If an account is locked an Unlock button appears to the left. Click the button to allow the account to have access to the BridgeStation site again.



An email notification is automatically sent to the owner of the account advising them that their account has been unlocked and providing instructions on resetting their password.

User administrators are also able to reset a user's password at any time by clicking the Reset button to the left of the account in question. As with unlocking an account an email notification is automatically sent to the owner of the account advising them their account has been reset and instructing them on how to reset their password.
 


Deactivating unwanted user accounts

User administrators can deactivate accounts via the user administration module. Click the Edit button to the left of the account you wish to modify. Locate the Activated check-box and un-check the the check box to deactivate the whole account.

 
You can also deactivate individual authorities/boroughs.
 


Once you are happy with your edit click the Save button to apply your changes. Accounts can be re-activated using the same method.